University of Roehampton

Human Resources Department
Erasmus House, Dugby Stuart College
Roehampton Lane
SW15 5PU
United Kingdom

About University of Roehampton

The University of Roehampton provides high quality facilities and teaching enriched by cutting-edge research and strong values. Roehampton is the only traditional campus university in London, located in the south-west of the city about 30 minutes from the west-end.

The University has some 9,000 students, 25% of whom are postgraduates. There is a cosmopolitan atmosphere, with over 130 different nationalities on campus. Roehampton has a strong commitment to widening participation and this is reflected in the diversity of the student body. Over 50% show one or more characteristics of a background with little or no prior experience of higher education, and the University has a relatively high proportion of BME students.

Roehampton became a university in 2004, with the coming together of four separate colleges which trace their origins back to the nineteenth century. The University has an ethos based on belief in the power of education to transform lives and communities, a commitment to encouraging the integrity and potential of individuals, and a passion for the highest quality of education and scholarship.

The University has ten academic departments: Business; Dance; Drama, Theatre and Performance; Education; English and Creative Writing; Humanities; Life Sciences; Media, Culture and Language; Social Sciences; Psychology. There is a strategic emphasis on improving student achievement and employability. The University also has a strong research profile, with a third of our research rated internationally excellent in the 2008 RAE. Dance and Biological Anthropology were both rated as the best in the country.

Roehampton is a collegiate university with four Colleges: Digby Stuart, Southlands, Whitelands and Froebel. The first three colleges have Christian foundations, while Froebel College is founded on the principles of the pioneering German educationalist, Friedrich Froebel. The Colleges play a key role in developing the University’s community and ethos, as well as in the governance of the University.


1 job with University of Roehampton